[RC2] Weather v3.0

Support for my Mods

Rating

Excellent!
7
77%
Very Good
1
11%
Good
0
No votes
Fair
0
No votes
Poor
1
11%
 
Total votes : 9

[RC2] Weather v3.0

Postby Handyman on Mon Mar 20, 2006 11:52 pm

Here is the Release Candidate version 3.0
Finally out.
Testers, please post the board url's you are testing this on so I can better see how things are coming.

To see this version in action, go <The demo is no longer available since we moved to phpBB3>

Version Changes
## 2006-03-12 - Version 3.0.0
## - Changed to use weather.com xml server
## - Weather on seperate page, so the index page is not so long.
## This can be placed on the index page, but for special reqest in
## version 3.0 only.
## - Citycode Finder for using cities.

This version is completely in compliance with weather.com, all you need to do is go here http://www.weather.com/services/xmloap.html and register with weather.com (it's free) and they will give you a user_id and partner_id.
Take those names/numbers and insert them into the weather.php in the proper locations.

I'm posting all the issues that have been found and fixed here.
TROUBLESHOOTING
Issue:
Code: Select all
Parse error&#58; parse error, unexpected T_STRING in /public_html/forum/weather.php on line 1

Code: Select all
Parse error&#58; parse error, unexpected T_STRING in /public_html/forum/citycode_finder.php on line 1


Fix:
downloadme wrote:Problem sovled. For some reason, the code in the files was messed up. I had to open them in wordpad becuase it was messed up in notepad. Anyways, I just saved them and reuploaded them, and they now work.


Issue: When you browse to weather.php or citycode_finder.php they are blank

Fix: Open weather.tpl and the citycode_finder.tpl in a text editor and make sure they are formatted correctly, then re-upload them. (I'll eventually get this worked out)

Issue: weather.php page shows header and footer and nothing else.

Fix: Go to this post, copy the code and paste it into yourforum/templates/yourtemplate/weather.tpl, then reupload and it should work.

Features for next version
#1. User selects Standard or Metric. Completion Percentage 50%
#2. User selects 1-10 day forecast. Completion Percentage 20%
#3. User sees local radar. Completion Percentage 5%
#4. Put temperature colors in Completion Percentage 10%
stylesheet for easy editing

Please make more suggestions for features for the new version.
Attachments
weather 3.0.zip
[RC2]Weather 3.0
Updated: Sunday, May 7th 10:00:53 CST (GMT-6)
(152.72 KB) Downloaded 420 times
Last edited by Handyman on Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:42 am, edited 12 times in total.
Reason: Demo is no longer available since we moved to phpBB3
User avatar
Handyman
Ambassador|Command Ambassador
Ambassador|Command Ambassador
 
Posts: 663
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 7:37 pm

Postby fruttolo on Tue Mar 21, 2006 3:49 pm

Hi,
just installed your mod and I have a few problems here...few clarifications to ask you.

1) My forum doesn't recognize at all the {U_WEATHER} and the {L_WEATHER} functions.....no links and nothing appears in the overall header, just a white field. Did you miss any file in the installation package?

2) Where do I exactly have to put the weather.php file? In your installation file you say... in includes directory...but what about the phpbb root directory? Shouldnt it be there? Also in the installation instructions you should put in order the directories where every file goes, and also in the package itself ...cause it seems to me that they are a bit messy now.

These are the main issues for now... Consider that it's the first time i see your mod, so i never used any of your past versions. This is my first install ever
fruttolo
1st Yr. Cadet
1st Yr. Cadet
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 3:56 am

Postby Handyman on Tue Mar 21, 2006 4:28 pm

Yes, a couple of things I missed for the install file. I'm fixing these now.
Code: Select all
copy citycode_finder.php to citycode_finder.php
copy weather.php to weather.php
copy language/lang_english/weather.php to language/lang_english/weather.php
copy templates/subSilver/* to templates/subSilver/*

Code: Select all
#
#-----&#91; FIND &#93;--------------------
#
'L_WEATHER' => $lang&#91;'Weather'&#93;,
#
#-----&#91; AFTER, ADD &#93;------------
#
'U_WEATHER' => append_sid&#40;'weather.'.$phpEx&#41;,

Code: Select all
#
#-----&#91; OPEN &#93;------------------------------------------
#
language/lang_english/lang_main.php
#
#-----&#91; FIND &#93;------------------------------------------
#
$lang&#91;'Zip_code'&#93; = 'Zipcode';
$lang&#91;'Zip_code_viewable'&#93; = '&#91;This is <b>NOT</b> publicly viewable.&#93;';
$lang&#91;'forecast'&#93; = 'Your Local Forecast';
$lang&#91;'select_city'&#93; = 'Select Your City';
$lang&#91;'withheld'&#93; = 'Withheld';
#
#-----&#91; AFTER, ADD &#93;------------------------------------------
#
$lang&#91;'Weather'&#93; = 'Local Weather';


That should solve the problem. Did you install this with easymod? If so, I'm glad to see it's working.

Let me know how those work for you.
~Handyman

P.S. The install file is now updated.
User avatar
Handyman
Ambassador|Command Ambassador
Ambassador|Command Ambassador
 
Posts: 663
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 7:37 pm

Postby fruttolo on Tue Mar 21, 2006 5:11 pm

Modifications are okay...
next error, when you open the weather.php:

Code: Select all
Parse error&#58; parse error, unexpected T_DOUBLE_ARROW in /weather.php on line 382


and here's the line...

Code: Select all
      'WEATHER_DATA'            => sprintf&#40;$lang&#91;'Weather_data'&#93;, $lang&#91;'Weather_data2'&#93;, $lang&#91;'Weather_data3'&#93;,
fruttolo
1st Yr. Cadet
1st Yr. Cadet
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 3:56 am

Postby Handyman on Tue Mar 21, 2006 5:26 pm

fruttolo wrote:Modifications are okay...
next error, when you open the weather.php:

Code: Select all
Parse error&#58; parse error, unexpected T_DOUBLE_ARROW in /weather.php on line 382


and here's the line...

Code: Select all
      'WEATHER_DATA'            => sprintf&#40;$lang&#91;'Weather_data'&#93;, $lang&#91;'Weather_data2'&#93;, $lang&#91;'Weather_data3'&#93;,



Sorry, another blatent error.
Replace lines 381 and 382 with
Code: Select all
'WEATHERCOM_DATA'         => sprintf&#40;$lang&#91;'Weathercom_data'&#93;, $partner_ID , $images&#91;'weather_logo'&#93;&#41;,
      'WEATHER_DATA'            => sprintf&#40;$lang&#91;'Weather_data'&#93;, $lang&#91;'Weather_data2'&#93;, $lang&#91;'Weather_data3'&#93;&#41;,


Zip is updated.
User avatar
Handyman
Ambassador|Command Ambassador
Ambassador|Command Ambassador
 
Posts: 663
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 7:37 pm

Postby fruttolo on Tue Mar 21, 2006 5:47 pm

Thanks,
now should be okay

I would also like to ask if you can you solve the little issue about "The Weather Channel" logo image not showing up in the Local Weather page.
fruttolo
1st Yr. Cadet
1st Yr. Cadet
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 3:56 am

Postby Handyman on Tue Mar 21, 2006 5:54 pm

Are all the other weather images showing up?

Also, could you post a link to the forum you have this on. I want to make sure it looks good (styles don't always seem to be the same on my board)
User avatar
Handyman
Ambassador|Command Ambassador
Ambassador|Command Ambassador
 
Posts: 663
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 7:37 pm

Postby fruttolo on Tue Mar 21, 2006 6:14 pm

Hi
I asked you about the Weather channel logo because its not showing up neither here in your board... you can see the image missing beside the link "Weather data provided by weather.com ......."

I added the link to my site in my profile My template will be a good test for your mod... I spend always so much time on it, its very complex And your weather mod shows up so fine there! I love it!

This is the next error to solve.. when you click on "find my city" in the profile:

Code: Select all
Parse error&#58; parse error, unexpected ';' in /citycode_finder.php on line 102


I did not install this mod with EasyMod, i did it manually, it was not that long
Last edited by fruttolo on Tue Mar 21, 2006 6:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
fruttolo
1st Yr. Cadet
1st Yr. Cadet
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 3:56 am

Postby Handyman on Tue Mar 21, 2006 6:29 pm

This looks Awesome with your Blue Template.
I'll figure this out in just a second.
Also, it seems it's working on your board, the only thing is you need to add a the weather link in your overall header for all your templates.

Also, in the citycode_finder.php I missed something on line 100.
Replace line 100 with this.
Code: Select all
   'WEATHER_DATA' => sprintf&#40;$lang&#91;'Weather_data'&#93;, $lang&#91;'Weather_data2'&#93;, $lang&#91;'Weather_data3'&#93;&#41;


EDIT: I didn't see your last post, but this post answers that question.
Your site looks great.
User avatar
Handyman
Ambassador|Command Ambassador
Ambassador|Command Ambassador
 
Posts: 663
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 7:37 pm

Postby fruttolo on Tue Mar 21, 2006 6:31 pm

The link for of the weather page, inside my forum, is under the "UTILS" menu on the top that is my overall header

Now the citycode finder popup works fine... but in that window there is one line with this:

Code: Select all
Weather by %s
fruttolo
1st Yr. Cadet
1st Yr. Cadet
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 3:56 am

Next

Return to Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron